Book Chat: Internment by Samira Ahmed

As I look around the classroom during independent reading time, undoubtedly, at all times, there will be at least one student with a book about the Holocaust in his/her hands. Some prefer historical fiction, like Alan Gratz’s Refugee or Projekt 1065. Others gravitate toward the informational section of the classroom library where they will find guidebooks, encyclopedias, photo journals, and memoirs centered around the devastation of Nazi death camps. Middle grade students are generally engrossed by the atrocities of this time period. Some are drawn to deepening historical knowledge; others feel the call of moral duty toward the victims. Most conceive the injustices and the racism and hatred that led to such inhumanity.

Yet very few approach such monstrosity as if it were still happening.

And in walks Samira Ahmed’s Internment.

So what will I tell my students?

Over the lazy days of winter break, my body may have been sedentary but my mind was not. From the opening chapter of this book, it was one I knew I could not read passively. Meet seventeen-year-old Layla. (I will share her words, projected from my sketch notes.)

I will be sure to tell them: This book is harsh. This book is relentless. This book makes me angry. This book terrifies me. This book makes me think about the past, but it, too, makes me cognizant of the now. It drives me to question things happening on foreign soil, yet it plants my feet firmly in my home soil, making me realize that I have a choice and a voice. This book makes me aware of my own humanity.

And I want that for you, too.

I anticipate that this book will disappear from my shelves today. I hope you, too, will take time to marinate in the bigger issues here. So many of you love Alan Gratz’s and Jennifer Neilsen’s books; I think you would also like this one. I can’t wait to hear your thoughts on Internment.

Just like that: a book walks into the hands of a young person – strengthening him/her as a reader, and hopefully, as a human.

Leave a comment